Release Of The Week

Week 11, 2024

This week we got a quite new release, released less than two months ago.

MOON WIZARD – Sirens

The third album from the American quartet. I knew about the band since their last full length, which I remember was a decent release.

Still, they surprised me a bit with this new piece of music. Their kind of melodic stoner doom with warming fuzz and slick riffs puts me in a good mood. They create a relaxing and soothing soundscape at the same time as it has a very infectious groove.

The vocals are excellent. Obviously her voice but there’s something with her phrasing that I really enjoy too, the words flows with the music in a very elegant way. I also like that there are several longer instrumental parts and how brilliant they are. The second half of Crestfallen for example. Amazing.

I read somewhere that the band was formed when three quarters of the band with more extreme metal roots wanted to try something new. After a few years now, I think it’s safe to say “You made it”. And then some.

THE BAND

Sami Wolf, vocals
Ashton Nelson, drums
Aaron Brancheau, guitars
Joseph Fiel, bass

THE ALBUM

Length: 43 min
Released on January 31st, 2024 independently digitally and on CD

Track list
01 - Meteor
02 - Mothership
03 - Epoch
04 - Magnolia
05 - Desert Procession
06 - Crestfallen
07 - Sunday
08 - Luminare
09 - Phantom